logo for lisbon-tourist-guide.com
LEFT for lisbon-tourist-guide.com

Lisbon Metropolitan Area

  Lisbon Metropolitan Area is indeed one of the most relevant regions of all Europe.

It's composed by these 18 municipalities listed below (largest to smallest, by population):
  • Lisbon
  • Sintra
  • Loures
  • Amadora
  • Cascais
  • Oeiras
  • Almada
  • Seixal
  • Odivelas
  • Vila Franca de Xira
  • Setúbal
  • Barreiro
  • Moita
  • Mafra
  • Palmela
  • Montijo
  • Sesimbra
  • Alcochete

The municipalities located at the north side of the Rio Tejo (Tagus River)  - Amadora, Cascais, Lisboa, Loures, Mafra, Odivelas, Oeiras, Sintra and Vila Franca de Xira -, are included in the Lisbon District.

The municipalities located at the south side of Rio Tejo - Alcochete, Almada, Barreiro, Moita, Montijo, Palmela, Seixal, Sesimbra and Setúbal -, are included in the Setúbal District.

See it in the Portugal Map

Lisbon Metropolitan Area.


It's the largest population concentration in Portugal with more than 2,808,000 inhabitants (more than 1/4 of the Portuguese population). The active population exceeds the 1.3 million.

About 33% of the national employment is located here and this region contributes with more than 36% to the Gross Domestic Product.


It covers and area of approximately 2,960 Km2 (about 3,2 % of the territory of Continental Portugal.

Find out more about:

Lisbon City
Grande Lisboa (Greater Lisbon)
Lisbon District

Top of Page
Return to Home Page from Lisbon Metropolitan Area

footer for lisbon page

Powered By SBI.